Friday, October 22, 2021

Couldn't find ten


אולי ימצאון שם עשרה

I found in וירא  חיי שרה a total of 9 צדיקים.

1) אברהם
2) יצחק
3) ישמעאל *
4) אליעזר
5) אבימלך **
6) לוט ***
7) ענר ****
8) אשכול
9) ממרא

* see Rashi Breishis 25:17

** אבימלך said on himself הגוי גם צדיק תהרוג - Rashi in Tehillim quotes the Midrash   
 that he was a צדיק.

** When one sees אשת לוט he makes two Brachos. The second Bracha is זוכר הצדיקים.
The כף החיים writes this Bracha refers to לוט.

*** The Midrash writes it was called קרית ארבע because of the four צדיקים
who lived there אברהם,ענר,אשכול, ממרא


No comments:

Post a Comment

anything that is not relevant to the post will be marked as spam.

The fifth son