Tuesday, January 18, 2022

It's no wonder


The 14 commandments in the ten commandments

3 - מצות עשה Mitzvos Asei

 1)  אנכי ה' אלהיך

  2) זכור/שמור את יום השבת
  3) כבד את אביך                                                                                                                        


 11- מצות לא תעשה Mitzvos Lo Sa'asei

1) לא יהיה לך

2 לא תעשה לך

3) לא תשתחווה להם

4) ולא תעבדם

5) לא תשא את שם

6) לא תעשה כל מלאכה

7) לא תרצח

8) לא תנאף

9) לא תגנב

10) לא תענה ברעך

11) לא תחמד בית

TOTAL 14 Mitzvos (14 commandments)

It's a פליאה עצומה (enormous wonder) on the
Heiligeh Zaidah the Chasam Sofer Zt"l how
can he write that there are 7 לאוין in the
עשרת הדברות when there actually are 11 לאוין?

Thanks to numerous subscribers who came up with 
this Pshat in the Chasam Sofer.

The עשרת הדברות are 10 separate Parshios
( ס & פ between each Parsha in Chumash)
The 10 דברות/פרשיות contain a total of 14 Mitzvohs.
The first דבור contains 4 Mitzvohs The 9th & 10th
דבור  combined contain only one Mitzvah (לא תחמוד) 

The Chasam Sofer meant to say that
7 out of the 10 דברות all start with the letter "ל"
of the word לא
and not that there are a total of 7 לאווין in
the עשרת הדברות but there are 7 דברות/פרשיות
all starting with the word לא



No comments:

Post a Comment

anything that is not relevant to the post will be marked as spam.


  Flash Furniture Nantucket 6-Piece Patio Dining Set with Glass Table, 4 Folding Chairs, and Umbrella, Outdoor Patio Table, Chairs, and Umbr...