Thursday, August 22, 2019

GLUTEN FREE

            ואכלת ושבעת וברכת

Harav Hagaon R.Moshe Sternbuch Shlita writes (תשובות והנהגות ח"ז):

 Gluten-free bread since it isn’t as filling as regular bread, 

it’s Bracha is מזונות & על המחיה.

Mori V’Rabi Harav Hagaon R. Shlomo Miller Shlita 

strongly disagrees with R. M. Sternbuch and holds that 

the Bracha for Gluten-free bread is המוציא & ברכת המזון

Reb Shlomo Miller’s proof is that oats don’t contain 

gluten yet are one of the 5 Minim ( המוציא & ברכת המזון)

1 comment:

  1. Oats are historically assumed to have originated from wheat or barley. This is a clearly scientifically based assumption. {Without contemportary science telling us this we know it from divrei Chaza"l, who determined it not to be "kilayim" with its original source - also regarding the mitzvah of "challah".] As the crop spread its way into Europe it began to lose its gluten content. Today's oats normally contain traces of gluten, due to contamination with wheat/barley fields in its proximity.
    Without any gluten it is hard to halachically classify it as either wheat or barley - even though these are its origins. It should seemingly now contain the same status as rice (according to most opinions - mezonoz and borei n'fashos. However this may be further questioned regarding common oats along with their traces of gluten. I generally try to include oatmeal with bread or both mezonos food and ha'adamah products in order to get out of this safeik.

    ReplyDelete

anything that is not relevant to the post will be marked as spam.

STOCK UP NOW!!! Amazon Brand - Happy Belly Medium Dark Roast Coffee Pods

    Amazon Brand - Happy Belly Medium Dark Roast Coffee Pods, House Blend, Compatible with Keurig 2.0 K-Cup Brewers, 100 Count